2019 National Championship Entries - Last Date

Report by Ian McDonald  27-28 April 2019

A game of one half!

Competitors for the Osprey Midland and Welsh Championship at Blithfield SC in Staffordshire, were greeted by winds over 50 mph. For the club it was the 37th consecutive annual Osprey Open. If nothing else had been learned, it was when social took over from sailing. So Saturday became time to chat, catch up with friends and the odd glass of beer with the Blithfield "Osprey Ladies" providing a top quality meal until late in the evening.

Sundays conditions were perfect with a stiff breeze down the reservoir. A first beat approaching one mile and open water for the exclusive use of the class. An early 9.30am start allowed three races to be run to a good length.

Race 1 saw 2018 national champions Terry Curtis and Peter Greig win with Scottish traveller's Alan Henderson and Alastair Barrie in second. Local boat Jon Batt and Jon Gibbons won race two with this time Alistair Reynard and Rob Burdekin chasing hard. Although the beat was a long one, downwind the fleet was compressing and racing was close throughout. The final race allowed Curtis and Greig in their older, wooden Mk3 get back to the front, with the "Two Jons" in second. Another wooden boat in third was raced by Alex Willis and Jonathan Osgood.

Long serving PRO Bill Watson and his race team controlled the expected well run event. With the dreadful weather forecast,the Osprey fleet itself is thanked by the club for joining us. Traveller's from Scotland, Wales and all points on the South Coast show the commitment to the class.

Blithfield looks forward to the 38th event.



Sailed: 3, Discards: 1, To count: 2, Entries: 12, Scoring system: Appendix A
Rank   SailNo Boat Name Year Built Builder Material Mark Helm   Crew   Sailing Club Total Net R3 R4 R5
1st   1234 Plan B   Jeff Hewitt Wood
MkIII Terry Curtis   Peter Greig   Weymouth SC 5.0 2.0 1.0 (3.0) 1.0
2nd   1331 Ondeline   Hartley Laminates GRP
MkIV Jon Batt   Jon Gibbons   Blithfield SC 7.0 3.0 (4.0) 1.0 2.0
3rd   1363 Robbers Alley 2016 Hartley Laminates GRP
MkV Alistair Raynard   Rob Burdekin   Carsington SC 11.0 5.0 3.0 2.0 (6.0)
4th   1292 Light & Bitter   A Dobson / Robert Shaw Wood
MkIII Alex Willis F Jonathan Osgood   Aldenham SC 16.0 7.0 (9.0) 4.0 3.0
5th   1367   2017 Hartley Laminates GRP
MkV Alan Henderson   Alastair Barrie   Prestwick SC 17.0 9.0 2.0 (8.0) 7.0
6th   1347 Pipe n Slippers 2011 Hartley Laminates GRP
MkIV Phil Meakins   Nick Willis   Warsash SC 16.0 10.0 5.0 (6.0) 5.0
7th   1369 Dark Matter 2017 Hartley Laminates GRP
MkV Roger Blake   James Blake   Great Moor SC 18.0 11.0 (7.0) 7.0 4.0
8th   1368 LOL   Hartley Laminates GRP
MkV Steve Leney   Paul Keeling   Blithfield SC 22.0 13.0 8.0 5.0 (9.0)
9th   1350 WARNING...Contains Nuts 2012 Hartley Laminates GRP
MkIV Alec Mamwell   Arthur Butler   Coniston SC 23.0 14.0 6.0 (9.0) 8.0
10th   1114 Just Pogo 1976 WJ Morrison- Gardiner Wood
MkIII Ros Downs F David Downs   Tata Steel SC 30.0 20.0 (10.0) 10.0 10.0
11th   1341 yLost 2009 Hartley Laminates GRP
MkIV Will Chrichton   Jerry Brookes   Ribble CC
Blithfield SC
34.0 22.0 11.0 11.0 (12.0)
12th   1329 Ram   Hartley Laminates GRP
MkIV Peter Slater   Alex Smith   Blithfield SC 37.0 24.0 (DNF [13.0]) DNS [13.0] 11.0

No racing on the Saturday due to wind strength being to much

Scoring codes used

Code Description Points
DNF Started but did not finish 13
DNS Came to the start area but did not start 13

Sailwave Scoring Software 2.28.1